Featured Links
football betting


Today's Games


Olympic Games

Tokyo Summer Olympics

England football betting


Premier League

England football betting



Golf Betting


The Open Championship



The Open Championship

featured basketball




Betting Rules

Help Centre

Safer Gambling


Olympics Betting: Sailing

Tokyo 2020 | 25 July – 4 August | Multiple Rounds & Events

Olympics Sailing History

Olympic sailing has a long history across the Games. It was introduced at Paris 1900, omitted from St. Louis 1904, then has remained ever since. Interestingly, the event name was changed from ‘yachting’ to ‘sailing’ at the Sydney 2000 Games.

Sailing at Tokyo 2020

The Tokyo 2020 Sailing competition will have six classes, four of them (Laser, RS:X, 470 and 49er) competed by men and women.

For Tokyo 2020, the Nacra 17 event has evolved to become a fully foiling boat, meaning it literally flies above the water.

  • RS:X – Windsurfer (Men/Women)
  • Laser – One Person Dinghy (Men)
  • Laser Radial – One Person Dinghy (Women)
  • Finn – One Person Dinghy (Heavyweight) (Men)
  • 470 – Two Person Dinghy (Men/Women)
  • 49er – Skiff (Men)
  • 49er FX – Skiff (Women)
  • Nacra 17 Foiling – Mixed Multihull

Olympic Sailing: How it Works

Sailing is not only a race against other boats but a battle with nature: the height of the waves, the pull of the tides, the strength of the wind and other climatic factors.

It is not possible for boats to sail in a straight line along each leg of the course. When sailing with a headwind or beam wind, boats must catch the wind by moving in a zig-zag pattern. During races, boats navigate a course shaped like an enormous triangle, heading for the finish line after they contend with the wind from all three directions. They must pass marker buoys a certain number of times and in a predetermined order.

Negotiating the course requires bold changes in direction and tight turns, with crews controlling their vessels by changing the position and orientation of their bodies.

Each event consists of a series of races. Points in each race are awarded according to position: the winner gets one point, the second-placed finisher scores two and so on.

The final race is called the medal race, for which points are doubled. Following the medal race, the individual or crew with the fewest total points is declared the winner.

Olympics Betting: Sailing

Where the sport started, Great Britain has won the most gold medals in this event, followed by USA, then Norway, Spain, and France.

In terms of outside Olympic betting on Sailing, Australia and New Zealand are also appealing based on their improvements in past events.

Australia, the USA and Great Britain have generally divided the gold medals among themselves in the men’s 470 discipline, although Croatia did get gold at Rio 2016. In the Women’s 470, Australia, New Zealand, Great Britain and Netherlands have vied for gold at the last three Games.

Click below for Olympics betting markets on Sailing.