Featured Links
football betting


Today's Games


Olympic Games

Tokyo Summer Olympics

England football betting


Premier League

England football betting



Golf Betting


The Open Championship



The Open Championship

featured basketball




Betting Rules

Help Centre

Safer Gambling


Olympics Betting: Rugby Sevens

Tokyo 2020 | 26 July – 31 July | Multiple Rounds & Events

Olympics Rugby Sevens History

Rugby (fifteen-a-side) was played at Paris 1900, London 1908, Antwerp 1920 and Paris 1924 with men’s teams only, after which came a long absence until the sport returned in its seven-a-side format at the Rio 2016 Games. A women’s competition was also held for the first time in Rio.

Rugby Sevens at Tokyo 2020

  • 12-team tournament (Men/Women)

Olympic Rugby Sevens: How it Works

A total of 12 teams will compete for medals in each of the men’s and women’s competitions at Tokyo 2020.

Rugby sevens is played on the same field of play as the fifteen-a-side game with pitch dimensions that are 100m x 70m. The result of fewer players on the same size field is a faster-paced game with more running, more tackles and more tries.

Unlike the fifteen-a-side game, which comprises two 40-minute halves, the period of time for sevens matches in Olympic games are 14 minutes, comprised of two seven minutes halves. Despite the shorter halves, a rugby sevens player has to be incredibly fit, powerful and skilled to compete at the highest level of the game.

Teams consist of three forwards and four backs, and each team may nominate and use up to five replacements during a game. All players in rugby sevens must be skilful in both attack and defence, able to run quickly, pass accurately and tackle effectively to bring an opposing runner to the ground.

Olympics Betting: Rugby Sevens

In terms of Olympics betting on Rugby Sevens, New Zealand, known as the All Blacks (men) and the Black Ferns (women), are the sport’s traditional powerhouse in the fifteen-a-side game. Both teams have an overwhelming victory record, with the men having won three out of nine Rugby World Cup tournaments and the women winning five of eight.

In rugby sevens, Fiji’s men are the reigning Olympic champions after taking rugby sevens’ first-ever Olympic title at Rio 2016. Their unique playing style attracts sevens fans from all over the world and embodies everything that is so appealing about the seven-a-side game.

New Zealand’s men failed to win a medal at Rio 2016 with Great Britain taking the silver medal and South Africa claiming bronze.

In the women’s seven-a-side game it is New Zealand who won last season’s World Rugby Sevens Series, medalling in all but one of six tournaments. They were runners-up to Australia at Rio 2016 whose impressive campaign earned them the first-ever women’s rugby sevens gold medal with Canada finishing third.

The standard of competition in both the men’s and women’s game is increasing year-on-year, and with the World Rugby Sevens Series 2020 featuring more tournaments than ever, there will be more upsets and triumphs on the road to the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

See our Olympics Rugby Sevens betting markets now.